Messages

The Real Reason

In no way do I mean to sound full of myself, but the fact is that a number of my dates have asked why a seemingly normal, reasonably attractive, nice girl like myself has resorted to online dating and I’ve always muddled my way through a handful of truthful yet bland explanations (I work in a female-dominated industry, I don’t trust the intention of men in bars, I just don’t like men in bars, yada yada yada.)
Today, a Tinder match taught me the appropriate response:

factComical yet accurate.

We scheduled a date. First Tinder date: here we go!

Standard

6 thoughts on “The Real Reason

  1. Vicky Sanders says:

    That actually makes a lot of sense. I feel like the stigma of online dating won’t exist soon enough and people will come to their senses knowing it’s really the best approach. My girlfriends all use cliqie.com now since it’s similar to tinder, but you can find things to do and meet with/match with groups so guys can’t creep on you lol. Skout’s not bad too, but I’ve had my fair share of creepers on there too

    • Vicky,
      I couldn’t agree more. I think online dating is becoming more mainstream as more people try it. These platforms are just another kind of social network, like Facebook or Twitter, the only difference is the motive behind it. It’s a place to meet like-minded, similarly-motivated people, for the most part at least.
      I’ve never heard of Skout or Cliqie but you’d better believe I’m going to give them a try! Thanks for the tip!
      Thanks for reading :)

      • Vicky Sanders says:

        Thanks for the response :). What’s interesting about it is that as the stigma fades, these tools become more useful because more people are open to using them. Then the more people that use them, the more valuable they get to each person using them. Hope it works out for you!

      • Very true! As long as they’re used properly and people are clear with their intentions. It’s when the line between relationship-seekers and the hook up-seekers is blurred that a dating platform starts to lose its credibility.

  2. Heels Not Needed says:

    I have had some luck on Tinder! Keeping my fingers crossed! It feels like less pressure than other sites.

    • I’ve been on Tinder for a couple of weeks and have a good pile of matches but not many date requests (just a few real charming gentlemen who say things like “hey, wanna grab a beer and have sex?”) In reality though, I think it simulates real dating much more than most sites. I mean, you see a face among millions of faces, just like at a bar, and you’re selective of only the faces that appeal to you, just like at a bar, then the conversation only starts if you’re both interested, kind of like a bar… haha
      My first Tinder date is actually coming up (tomorrow!) so wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

