First Dates

Do I Know You?

I had my sneaking suspicions before even showing up to my date the other night, but as soon as we sat down and started talking, I easily settled into that kind of comfort that you only really have when you know someone well. The funny thing: I had never met this guy before. It was a first date (a tinder date, no less) but I swear to all things holy and good, if you had written out this gent’s resume (life resume, not professional resume,) it would be pretty much identical to that of a guy I had spent a solid six+ months trying to date in high school (followed by another three years of the on-again-off-again crushing-on-but-simultaneously-hating thing.) Even the way he sat, the clothes he wore, the way he talked, probably even a little bit in how he looked (or that might’ve just been me reading into things too much,) were all the same. Needless to say it was strange. And strangely comfortable.

Any one of my high school lady friends can tell you, my 17-year old self was chasing after some nasty nonsense with this guy, who I found to be misunderstood yet still entirely charming, while  everyone else saw he was, well, just an asshole in sheep’s clothing. But every girl has to have her saint-like period of trying to pick up that bruised and battered, misunderstood diamond in the rough, only to realize that no amount of pressure could turn a piece of dung into a diamond, right? These cliches are killing me. Anyways, the point is, this first guy was bad news and I was naive. I searched endlessly for ways that we connected and was eternally optimistic that things would turn around. Despite the trouble of the situation, we did have a decently good time together (or at least a perceived good time) and I’m curious to see, in the end, just how similar this new personality-doppelganger really is. Maybe this will end in a slow fizzling disaster, too. Maybe I’ll read the signs properly this time. Or maybe this new guy is actually different enough that I get all those good things I remember and wonderfully avoid all the bad. Only one way to find out! Date #2 coming up this Monday!

I’m curious, has this ever happened to anyone else? I feel like it happens to me all the time. I meet someone and immediately think “hmm… you remind me of someone…” But then again, it’s never been someone I’ve tried dating. Does this count as dating someone twice (of course not! That’s ridiculous.) Anyway, anyway, more to come. Stay tuned!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Do I Know You?

  1. Pingback: Le Deuxieme Date | Diary of a Serial Dater

  2. justtoliveandbreatheagain says:

    Lol This happens to me too! It’s so weird…it feels like everything about them is the same except for the way they look.

Leave a Reply

